South Sudan President appoints Abyei Chief Administrator alongside 8 state governors

New Chief Administrator of Abyei Administrative Area-Kuol Diem Kuol

The President of South Sudan Salva Kiir has appointed three chief administrators and eight state governors. In a decree issued on Monday, Kiir appointed Kuol Diem Kuol the Chief Administrator of Abyei Administrative Area.

Some former governors were reappointed to their position. The decree reinstated Dr. Joseph Monytuil as governor of Unity state, Louis Lobong Lojore, governor of Eastern Equatoria State. Other appointees to the position of governors include:

  1. Tong Aken Ngor, Northern Bahr El Ghazal
  2. Bona Panek Biar for Warrap State
  3. Makur Kulang for Lakes State.

The decree brought in William Chol as the chief Administrator of Ruweng Administrative Area, Joshua Konyi is the new Chief Administrator of Greater Pibor Administrative Area.

Governors of Jonglei and Upper Nile states are yet to be named.