Some schools reopened in Rumamer County

Pupils attend a lesson at Comboni Primary school in Juoljok | Credit: Chol Ayiik Chol

Five primary schools among 18 public and private learning institutions have reopened in Rumammer County of Abyei Administrative Area on Monday since Agok clashes in February.

These schools are, Majbong, Awal, Rumammer, Juojok and a Catholic private-run school in Nyin-joh village.

County director of education revealed that there are many children in villages who don’t go to school. Mr. Peter Piok Wuor confirmed registration of more than 2000 pupils in these schools.  He outlined lack of textbooks and feeding as challenges. He called on community members to come for the cleaning of learning facilities.